(Created Monday, Mar. 29, 2004 at 2:31 AM)
Today's Basic Idea:" worthy, sacred, and loved "

From e.e. cummings:

�We do not believe in ourselves until someone reveals that deep inside us something is valuable, worth listening to, worthy of our touch, sacred to our touch. Once we believe in ourselves, we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight, or any experience which reveals the human spirit.�

I think this has applied to me in the past when I've been angry, and it applies to people I've known who have walked around angry too much of the time, seething and unable to get out of it (or even notice they were in it). Sometimes it's easier to realize we're worthy of love when it's someone else doing it, but out of necessity we have to learn to do it for ourselves... because if we don't love ourselves (and I mean in a constructive, healthy way and not in a "I'm awesome and you all suck for not knowing it" kind of way)... then we just spiral downwards into bitterness... after a certain point, you would just radiate too much hostility for anyone to risk coming near you.

I have to wonder, in my little pop psychology brain, if those who are power-seekers out there (whether they are in Hollywood or Washington DC) are substituting power for a lack of peace and love.

What do I need power for if I am happy and loving and loved?

No, I'm not stoned. :-) Just trying to add some good vibes out in the world today I guess.

Otherwise, if you need a laugh, go here Or, checkout what Janeane Garofolo and Al Franken have in common
***** 2 voices speaking out
- 2004-04-18 19:34:59
i wish more people had that attitude...and i don't mean that in a love-the-world, kumbaya sort of way, i just think it would make the world a much easier place to inhabit. kd
-------------------------------
Comments?


Eating: hummus
Watching: I Capture the Castle
Reading: Children's literature (critical theory)
Feeling: The current mood of moonferret at www.imood.com




*HUGS* TOTAL! give moonferret more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own




































br>













    Hindsight ----- Foresight

    2004 --- 2003 --- 2002 --- 2001

    A survey called "understand" -get to know someone

    A Survey called "OK, Smarty..." if you want to entertain yourself with the delusion of brilliance. :)