(Created 2001-10-02 at 6:14 a.m.)
Today's Basic Idea:" Jerry Falwell and my hippie Jesus "
I think the Onion said it best... Jerry Falwell: Is this Guy a Dick or What? Ok, for some reason the entire page is underlined, and it Won't Go Away. Fuck it. Enjoy. Back to Jerry Falwell: He's no different than anyone else who speaks or acts in self-righteous anger, thinking their "god" is going to justify all of their hateful feelings.

I've never considered myself an atheist, but I saw a new definition of atheist when I went to the Unitarian Fellowship here.

It's about the only kind of church where I don't feel like I'll be struck by lightning as soon as I cross the threshold. Ok, that's not true... but I think Jesus was a vegetarian hippie who would have totally been into gay rights. So, perhaps I'm not in danger of being struck by lightning, but rather by stampeding Catholics. Hey, how do I get excommunicated? Anyone know?

Anyway. So I stumbled across this definition of "atheist" which read like this: "atheist, or A-theist: Someone who believes the concept of Theism, or a Deity, is not helpful." Period. Well, that makes a whole lot of sense!

I've never been into that whole Deity thing. The only kind of god I can believe in is Love. If the beauty I see in people, their ability to love... if I can call *that* god, then I'm ok with spirituality on a grand scale.

But as soon as people start saying that god is some guy hanging out in the sky, who knows all, sees all, and is all powerful, well... the logic falls apart and so does faith.

I may have grown up Catholic, but I am not illogical. Seems to me that "faith" is another way of saying "Because I said so."

If god is good AND all powerful, then September 11th (and a whole bunch of other crap in world history) wouldn't have happened. It really IS that simple. God either Isn't ALL good, or god isn't all powerful. One or the other.

I like the way the Onion said it best, though, in the "God clarifies No Kill Rule". Look at the Sept 11 issue... http://www.theonion.com

More later, if I'm still inspired to rant. Remember, This is just my opinion... your mileage may vary.
*****
0 voices speaking out
Comments?


Eating:
Watching:
Reading:
Feeling: The current mood of moonferret at www.imood.com




*HUGS* TOTAL! give moonferret more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own




































br>













    Hindsight ----- Foresight

    2004 --- 2003 --- 2002 --- 2001

    A survey called "understand" -get to know someone

    A Survey called "OK, Smarty..." if you want to entertain yourself with the delusion of brilliance. :)