(Created Jun. 05, 2004 at 7:56 PM)
Today's Basic Idea:" murder and stalkers "

There have now been two different student murders in the last month. Both were men killing women, specifically women who turned them down, i.e. stalkers. Of course, yes, I am sad about this - how can you not be - but mostly I am fucking furious. Men killing women because the woman said no. The first murder was a rape-murder. I am reminded of the violent men I've known, and it makes me even more angry that I feel "lucky" to have not been physically injured. Why would being rejected drive someone to murder???

I remember a few bad run-ins I've had in the past with crazy psycho assholes, and it took me a long time to get to a point where I stopped trying to be NICE and save someone's feelings who was clearly a threat. when someone is groping you completely uninvited, it's not a time to be polite.

Of course, I don't know the best way to defend ourselves against guns and knives, but the first step would probably be... learn to project confidence, and take some martial arts classes. It makes me furious that women have to think about this shit.

Of course, this is related to my own past with near-stalkers and men who would not accept "no" for an answer. (There have been at least two.) So ironic that C. and I were just talking about all of this last night on the phone. Why is it that men get violent when they are rejected? Or at the very least, they don't get over it. I am lucky in that I was never harmed. I've slept with knives before when I felt threatened... like that time when M. lost his temper and was throwing things at me.

I know that I could defend myself, after seeing what I did to S. when i was attacked. I guess I'm not a pacifist when it comes to self-defense.

I think it's time I helped organize a little campus "take back the night" type thing. if you're a guy reading this, don't let yourself become a violent asshole... why would you let rejection dictate your life and consume you?


***** 0 voices speaking out
Comments?


Eating: nothing
Watching: Mansfield Park
Reading: Northanger Abbey
Feeling: The current mood of moonferret at www.imood.com




*HUGS* TOTAL! give moonferret more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own




































br>













    Hindsight ----- Foresight

    2004 --- 2003 --- 2002 --- 2001

    A survey called "understand" -get to know someone

    A Survey called "OK, Smarty..." if you want to entertain yourself with the delusion of brilliance. :)