(Created 2004-03-05 at 10:51 a.m.)
Today's Basic Idea:" That crazy Bible "
The battle begins.

Well, thanks to Jeremy (old housemate/ ex boyfriend/ chief antagonist, just kidding)... I am now all fired up about the gay bashing anti-marriage assholes. So I've been doing my Bible research instead of focusing on grad school. Great. I love having ulcers.

Anyway, I have actually discovered something very interesting. First, check out these sites:

Specific mention of gay relationships in the Bible?

Great resource for intelligent people

What I have found, to put it succinctly, is that There is nothing in the Bible forbidding or condemning same-sex committed relationships.

Read that sentence again.

While the Bible does condemn certain acts (such as rape and prostitution), it condemns them both in the straight and gay context. It does not mention long-term gay relationships at all.

Mark and Jeremy (both housemates of mine many years ago) have been corresponding about this. Mark had some bizzare religious "epiphany" (which I secretly think was an LSD flashback) a few years ago, and has become a Bible freak. I find it laughable that he's quoting the Bible for his argument, when all (reasonably intelligent) people know it's full of contradictions and traditions that we don't follow. One of Paul's "commandments" was for women to never talk in church and to be completely obedient to their husbands. He also said we shouldn't eat meat. (I'm a vegetarian myself, but around here it seems that the more Christian you profess yourself to be, the more meat you eat.)

Again, I recommend checking out those links above.


***** 0 voices speaking out
Comments?


Eating:
Watching:
Reading:
Feeling: The current mood of moonferret at www.imood.com




*HUGS* TOTAL! give moonferret more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own




































br>













    Hindsight ----- Foresight

    2004 --- 2003 --- 2002 --- 2001

    A survey called "understand" -get to know someone

    A Survey called "OK, Smarty..." if you want to entertain yourself with the delusion of brilliance. :)